Thursday, March 11, 2010

Ponderings

I have been thinking about some things lately pertaining to religion.  You know I was having a conversation wtih one of my friends that I used to work with telling her some things that my husband was doing at the time.  Her first thought was "Satan is in your house".  What prompted her to say this was that I had mentioned he was reading books about buddhism.  Now if you think about it......Buddhism has been around for around 2500 years, Christianity only about 2007.  Why do Christians believe everyone has to be "converted to christianity" or they are going to Hell?  I am not sure I understand that part.  I was raised Methodist, so don't get me wrong, I am not saying I don't believe in God.  I do believe in a higher power of sorts, I am just saying that one's understanding of other religions should be broader.  Now how can someone say that only one way is right?  We all believe in higher powers I think.  To sit and say there is only ONE way to believe is preposterous.  I mean we are all individuals and no matter where you look, in which religion, it does not say that we are not allowed to think for ourselves.  So why would a "Christian" say something of the sort because someone else was looking into a different religion?  I am not sure I understand, if they are still looking towards enlightenment, looking towards improving themselves, still believe there is higher power why does it have to be that Satan has moved in?

Since I am discussing heavy topics today....I read in the news the other day about a dad that left his infant child in the car after taking her to a doctor's appointment.  The article said that he had picked her up from day care and taken her to the doctor.  The appointment ran long and he rushed back to work.  After work he came to get in his car and found his baby, dead.  Ok how on earth could he leave the baby doctor and not take the baby back to daycare.  I am confused on this one.  I couldn't even begin to imagine not remembering my little one was in the car with me.  I mean you put him in, you then get him out before you go anywhere.  How difficult is that?  Why did this guy head back to work from the pediatrician's office?  He knew where he was leaving he should have headed for the day care.  What about when he got to work and was leaving his car?  Did he not look in his rear view mirror at all on the way and see his baby looking back at him?  There are so many questions I have.  I can't imagine what this poor mother is going through knowing her husband killed their child because of his own stupidity.  I know that people get distracted but you are talking about being responsible for another human life.  If you can't focus long enough to ensure your child's safety then you shouldn't be a parent or at least let the mother take care of the child!!!!  Maybe tomorrow's post will be on the lighter side of things!

No comments:

Post a Comment